top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAngela Lam Perieteanu

Comfort and solidarity - we will ALL be okay


So this is obviously not a post about sourdough and my adventures in bread making...but I just wanted to take a moment, first and foremost, to thank our frontline health workers and other essential services for their dedication and selflessness, in what are, undoubtedly, some of the most trying times we, as a generation, have experienced outside of wartime.


But, these trying and difficult times have also brought out the very best in people. I have seen acts of kindness, of generosity, of love, that perhaps, although inherently in all of us, took a crisis to bring to the surface.


All the small and large gestures I've received since I started adopting out sourdough starters...such as thank you notes slipped inside empty glass jars brought in exchange, jars left in exchange filled to the brim with sweets, Easter baskets filled with goodies for my children during Easter weekend, bags of flour from savvy bakers who know how much flour goes into feeding and splitting starter, and well - CASH (which, btw, I want to emphasize is not welcome, ahem...BECKY! - enjoy the treats I sent back to you!) - all this outpouring of kindness, community, and generosity - it's how I know we'll all be okay. We are all in this together.


Sourdough bread originally started out as an experiment, and has since evolved into a lesson in community, solidarity, and love. On a side note, I lost my grandfather yesterday to COVID-19, and some of you were aware because we're Facebook friends - the kind words, sympathy cards in my mailbox, the random bouquets of flowers, and the offers to help me run errands during this time...I'm so touched and grateful for this community. It really does take a village.


So - Leaside and Davisville Village, I appreciate your thanks when you grab a starter from me, but my eternal thanks to you all for showing me the best in humanity and kindness.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page